The Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB) has awarded 5-year accreditation to 11 public health departments. Accreditation status was awarded February 28, 2013, to:

  • Comanche County Health Department (Lawton, OK)
  • Franklin County Health Department (Frankfort, KY)
  • Livingston County Department of Health (Mt. Morris, NY)
  • Northern Kentucky Independent District Health Department (Edgewood, KY)
  • Oklahoma City-County Health Department (Oklahoma City, OK)
  • Oklahoma State Department of Health (Oklahoma City, OK)
  • Spokane Regional Health District (Spokane, WA)
  • The Public Health Authority of Cabarrus County, Inc. d/b/a Cabarrus Health Alliance (Kannapolis, NC)
  • Three Rivers District Health Department (Owenton, KY)
  • Washington State Department of Health (Olympia, WA)
  • West Allis Health Department (West Allis, WI)

“This is a truly historic moment in public health,” said PHAB President and CEO Kaye Bender, PhD, RN, FAAN. “With accreditation, we now have national standards that promote continuous quality improvement for public health and a mechanism for recognizing high performing public health departments. These are the first of many health departments that we look forward to being able to recognize for achieving national standards that foster efficiency and effectiveness, and promote continuous quality improvement.”

Click here to read the full news release.