The Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB) has awarded five-year national accreditation status to 17 governmental public health departments. The 14 local and 3 state health departments accredited Nov. 10 represent the largest group of candidates to achieve the prestigious designation since the national accreditation program began in 2011. With these accreditation decisions, 45 percent of the U.S. population, or nearly 139 million people, are now served by health departments that meet PHAB’s rigorous national standards for delivering quality programs and services to their communities.

National accreditation status was awarded Nov. 10, 2015 to:


  • City of Wauwatosa Health Department, Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
  • Clay County Public Health Center, Liberty, Missouri
  • Davis County Health Department, Farmington, Utah
  • Erie County Health Department, Sandusky, Ohio
  • Huron County Public Health, Norwalk, Ohio
  • Jefferson County Department of Health, Birmingham, Alabama
  • Knox County Health Department, Knoxville, Tennessee
  • Medina County Health Department, Medina, Ohio
  • Mid-Michigan District Health Department, Stanton, Michigan
  • Naugatuck Valley Health District, Seymour, Connecticut
  • New Mexico Department of Health, Santa Fe, New Mexico
  • Ohio Department of Health, Columbus, Ohio
  • Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island Department of Health, Providence, Rhode Island
  • Tarrant County Public Health, Fort Worth, Texas
  • Tazewell County Health Department, Tremont, Illinois
  • Township of Bloomfield Department of Health & Human Services, Bloomfield, New Jersey

A news release announcing the Nov. 10, 2015 accreditations is available here.