The number of public health departments around the nation that have demonstrated their ability to meet rigorous national standards of performance continues to climb. On June 11, 2019, the Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB) awarded national initial accreditation status to 11 local governmental public health departments. In addition, PHAB awarded reaccreditation status to six health departments on June 11, 2019. With these accreditation decisions, tens of thousands more people can be assured that the programs and services they receive from their health departments are as responsive as possible to the needs of their communities.

Read the full press release here.

Click here to see the complete list of PHAB-accredited health departments.

National initial accreditation was awarded June 11, 2019 to:

  • Champaign Health District, Urbana, Ohio
  • Chester County Health Department, West Chester, Pennsylvania
  • Coos Health & Wellness, Coos Bay, Oregon
  • Cuyahoga County Board of Health, Parma, Ohio
  • Goodhue County Health and Human Services, Red Wing, Minnesota
  • Lane County Public Health, Eugene, Oregon
  • Merced County Department of Public Health, Merced, California
  • Montgomery County Health Department, Crawfordsville, Indiana
  • Portage County Combined General Health District, Ravenna, Ohio
  • Portage County Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Stevens Point, Wisconsin
  • Wedco District Health Department, Cynthiana, Kentucky

 National reaccreditation was awarded June 11, 2019 to:

  • Chicago Department of Public Health, Chicago, Illinois
  • Polk County Health Department, Balsam Lake, Wisconsin
  • The Public Health Authority of Cabarrus County, Inc. d/b/a Cabarrus Health Alliance, Kannapolis, North Carolina
  • Spokane Regional Health District, Spokane, Washington
  • Summit County Combined General Health District, Akron, Ohio
  • Three Rivers District Health Department, Owenton, Kentucky