The Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB) is a 501(c)(3) organization that administers the national public health accreditation program and the Pathways Recognition program.

As the sole national accrediting body for public health in the U.S., PHAB supports health departments to improve quality, accountability, and performance.

PHAB is also home to the PHAB Center for Innovation (CFI) that contributes to innovation and transformation of public health practice.  PHAB also incubates the Center for School Health Innovation and Quality.

PHAB is currently developing an Excellence Recognition program to add to existing programming, including the Initial Accreditation, Reaccreditation, and Pathways Recognition programs.

Our Story

For more information on the background of accreditation, see the Journal of Public Health Management and Practice, January/February 2014, Volume 20, Number 1.


Collaboration is key. PHAB seeks the input of subject matter experts, public health professionals, and partners in various areas of public health to inform our programs. Think tanks, work groups, and expert panels ensure our programs and offerings reflect the current aspirations of the public health field, while pushing us forward in thought and practice.

PHAB has many public health partners and continues to develop partnerships with national public health organizations, agencies, and initiatives to strengthen public health practice.

  • American Public Health Association (APHA)
  • Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)
  • National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)
  • National Association of Local Boards of Health (NALBOH)
  • National Indian Health Board (NIHB)
  • Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTE)
  • The National Network of Public Health Institutes (NNPHI)
  • The National Public Health Informatics Institute (NPHII)
  • Public Health Foundation (PHF)

  • Trust for America’s Health (TFAH)

PHAB would like to thank the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) for their generous support in funding and content expertise since 2007.