National Voluntary Accreditation for Public Health Departments

As of November 19, 2019, a total of 36 state, 243 local, 3 Tribal, 1 statewide integrated local public health department system (Florida), and one Army Installation of Public Health have achieved five-year initial accreditation or reaccreditation through the Public Health Accreditation Board, bringing the benefits of PHAB accreditation to 81 percent of the U.S. population. Download an Excel Spreadsheet containing important information about each PHAB-accredited health department, including the date of their accreditation or reaccreditation, and the version of the PHAB Standards and Measures under which they were accredited. For your presentations, feel free to use this updated printable map, which displays all accreditation activity as of Februray 5, 2020. The map is also available in a PowerPoint version.

Read the press release.

Three Tribal health departments have thus far achieved accreditation through PHAB:

  • Cherokee National Health Services, Tahlequah, OK
  • Forest County Potawatomi Health & Wellness Center Community Health Department, Crandon, WI
  • Oneida Nation, Oneida, WI

The below list is updated quarterly to reflect the most up-to-date decisions of the Accreditation Committee.  This is a living list.  If the state health department is accredited, it will appear at the top of that state’s listing, in a slightly larger font. Tribal health departments are designated with an asterisk (*).  Health departments that have achieved reaccreditation are listed in green.  As of November 19, 2019, 17 health departments have achieved reaccreditation through PHAB.

Complete List of Nationally Accredited Health Departments


  • There are no accredited Health Departments.




  • There are no accredited Health Departments.

New Mexico


Rhode Island

South Carolina

  • There are no accredited Health Departments.

South Dakota

  • There are no accredited Health Departments.




  • There are no accredited Health Departments.

Washington, D.C.

* The District of Columbia applied for accreditation under state standards.

Health Departments Reviewed: Not Accredited

Accreditation Expired